Flood Plain Property Acquisition and Demolition Program


The Flood Plain Property Acquisition and Demolition Program is a voluntary program where owners of property located in the floodway, and regulated floodplain, can apply for Village acquisition of their parcel. Participation in the program is voluntary and affords selected property owners the opportunity to arrange for a sale of their property.

Applications will be prioritized based on the Priority Tier that the property falls within. See below for more information on Priority Tiers.

Owners of eligible properties may begin the application process for the program beginning September 12, 2022. Applications must be submitted no later than November 18, 2022. Fill out an online application to apply.

Priority Tier Categories & Detail

Applications will be sorted and prioritized based on the following categories:

Priority Property Type
Tier 1 - Substantially Damaged
Tier 2 - Repetitive Loss
Tier 3 - Substantial Improvements Exceeding 40% FMV
Tier 4 - All Other Properties in Regulatory Floodplain/Floodway

Substantially Damaged Building (Tier 1) - A building that has incurred damage of any origin whereby the cost of restoring the building to its condition before damage would equal or exceed 50% of the fair market value of the building before the damage occurred. According to the current Village Code, damage costs are tabulated on a 10-Year rolling timeframe. This code provision allows for properties to be removed from the Substantially Damaged category after 10 years. In order to qualify for Tier 1 status, the property must have exceeded 50% of the FMV at the time of application.

Repetitive Loss Structure (Tier 2) – A National Flood Insured Program (NFIP) insured structure that has had one or more paid flood losses in any 10-year period since 1978 is eligible under Tier 2. In order to qualify for Tier 2 status, the property must be able to provide documentation to support this definition of a repetitive loss structure.

Substantial Improvements (Tier 3) – Substantial improvement is defined as any reconstruction, rehabilitation, addition, or other improvements to a structure where the total cost of improvements equals or exceeds 50 percent of the market value of the structure before the start of improvement construction. As with Substantially Damaged buildings, Village Code allows for properties to be removed from the Substantial Improvements category after 10 years. Village staff maintains records of Substantial Improvements and the current expenditure level.

All Other Properties (Tier 4) – Properties located in the floodway or regulatory floodplain that do not meet the criteria of any other Tier.

In all cases, the Village may choose to acquire properties that best serve the community interest when making final decisions. View a current map highlighting properties in each tier. To search if an address falls within one of the tiers, enter an address in the Village's Repetitive Loss Map and use the legend feature to identify applicable tiers.